Totts lift the Senior Trophy for a second time

First Half goals from Jack Lauder & Joe Smith enough for a 2-0 win over Cranfield United.

Totternhoe won the first county cup final of the season as they saw off Cranfield United in a feisty match at Bedford Town’s Eyrie Stadium in front of 220 spectators.

Jason Goldman picked up an early booking for The Cranes as he tangled with Totts striker Joe Smith on the edge of the box, the resulting free kick from Mitchell Brent almost brought an early goal but for a great save from Rob Nash. Cranfield then should have taken the lead when a ball across the box found the onrushing Mark Smith but his shot was blocked and Totternhoe managed to clear the danger.

Totternhoe then took control of the game and but was a super last ditch Carl Warner block they would have taken the lead on 18 minutes. The deadlock was finally broken on 24 minutes when Jack Lauder popped up in the 6 yard box to steer home a cross and put Totts ahead. Joe Smith should have doubled the lead on 34 minutes but smashed over the bar when clean through.

Smith then did double the lead when he challenged Nash for the ball on the goal line and bundled it into the net. The Cranes did manage another effort before Half Time, Josh Bamford from a free kick almost seeing his effort squirm through the hands of Louis Bowley but he managed to hold on.

The second half saw a lot less goalmouth action as both teams cancelled each other out. Cranfield pushed in the final 10 minutes and were camped in the Totternhoe half but couldn’t find a way through so it was Totternhoe celebrating at the final whistle as they lifted the trophy for a second time following their previous win in 2011 over AFC Dunstable. The Cranes 83 year wait for another county cup trophy goes on with their Minor Cup win over Barton United in 1935 their one and only triumph despite appearances now in all 4 of the Saturday Cup Finals.

Totternhoe: Louis Bowley, Wayne O’Connor, Oliver Hibbitt, Sam Folland, Jack Lauder, Scott Murchie, Ashley Farmer, Mitchell Brent, Joe Smith, Joel McCormick, Aiden Murray. Subs used: Sean Bishop, Andy Cleere, Chris Golding. Subs not used: Harry Adams-Rimmer, Daniel Dyer-Waite.

Cranfield United:
Rob Nash, Jack Harding, Carl Warner, Adam Hulks, Jason Goldman, Jack Goodacre, Tim Larrier, Ali Smith, Josh Bamford, Sam Evans, Mark Smith. Subs used: Shaun Barnett, Rhys Allen, Antonio Ricciardi.